News, Special Recognition, and Awards

Trauma surgeon receives 2012 Smallwood Award

John Weigelt, MD, DVMMilwaukee, Wis. (July 2, 2012) — Trauma surgeon John Weigelt, MD, DVM, has been awarded the Thomas L. Smallwood Award for Patient Care Excellence by the board of directors of Froedtert Hospital. Dr. Weigelt is widely published and a nationally recognized leader in trauma surgery and surgical education. He is the Medical College of Wisconsin’s chief of trauma and critical care, and serves as medical director of the joint clinical quality office of Froedtert & The Medical College.

“An exceptional clinician, a visionary leader and a true role model for other clinicians, Dr. Weigelt is well-deserving of this award,” said Cathy Buck, Froedtert Hospital president. “Since 1999, he has been the driving force behind establishing the trauma program at Froedtert & The Medical College of Wisconsin as one of the most respected in the country. His advocacy for building a true culture of improvement has helped Froedtert emerge as an institution recognized for high quality care.”

The Thomas L. Smallwood Award was established in 2003 to honor outstanding contributions to the care of patients at Froedtert Hospital. Award criteria focus on four key areas: clinical skills, scientific inquiry, clinical program development and superior patient outcomes. The award is named for Thomas L. Smallwood, former chairman of the Froedtert Hospital board of directors and a passionate advocate for Froedtert Hospital and its patients. 

Dr. Stuart Wilson, Professor in the Department of Surgery, was the first recipient of the Thomas L. Smallwood Award.

Medical College of Wisconsin
8701 Watertown Plank Road
Milwaukee, WI 53226
Directions & Maps