Three emergency medicine faculty among nation’s first board certified Emergency Medical Services physicians

Jan. 15, 2014 College News - Charles Cady, MD, Associate Professor, M. Riccardo Colella, DO, MPH, Associate Professor and Chief of the Section of EMS and Disaster Medicine, and Jason Liu, MD, MPH, Associate Professor, are among the nation’s first American Board of Medical Specialties-recognized emergency medical services (EMS) physicians. The American Board of Emergency Medicine recently recognized EMS as a formal subspecialty of emergency medicine and administered its first certifying examination in September.

Ronald Pirrallo, MD, MHSA, Professor of Emergency Medicine, was nationally involved in the creation of the subspecialty and writing of the board exam.

EMS is a medical subspecialty that involves pre-hospital emergency patient care, including initial patient stabilization, treatment, and transport in specially equipped ambulances or helicopters to hospitals. The purpose of EMS subspecialty certification is to standardize physician training and qualifications for EMS practice, improve patient safety and enhance the quality of emergency medical care provided to patients and populations in the pre-hospital environment, and facilitate further integration of pre-hospital patient treatment into the continuum of patient care.

EMS became the sixth subspecialty available to ABEM diplomats.

Medical College of Wisconsin
8701 Watertown Plank Road
Milwaukee, WI 53226
(414) 955-8296
Directions & Maps
© 2014

Page Updated 01/15/2014