Dr. Beth Erickson receives Ulrich Henschke Award from American Brachytherapy Society

April 08, 2014 College News - Beth Erickson, MD, Professor of Radiation Oncology, received the Ulrich Henschke Award at the 2014 American Brachytherapy Society (ABS) annual meeting in San Diego. The Ulrich Henschke Award is the highest honor the American Brachytherapy Society can bestow on a practitioner of brachytherapy, awarded for contributions to the field of brachytherapy, the radiation therapy community, and to the ABS.

Dr. Erickson has been an ABS member for more than 20 years and served on its Board of Directors from 1998 – 2004, serving as President in 2002. She currently co-chairs the ABS GYN Brachytherapy School and chairs the ABS International Committee. Dr. Erickson has built a successful gynecologic brachytherapy program in the Department of Radiation Oncology and is an international leader in gynecologic brachytherapy research and treatment.

Dr. Henschke is considered the father of modern-day brachytherapy for his initial work in the 1950s, including his technology advancements which are still in use today.

Medical College of Wisconsin
8701 Watertown Plank Road
Milwaukee, WI 53226
(414) 955-8296
Directions & Maps
© 2015

Page Updated 04/08/2014