Steering Committee takes shape

Representing the diverse range of experience needed to successfully guide creation of the community medical education programs, faculty from the Medical College of Wisconsin have been named to the program’s Steering Committee, and student representatives will soon be added.

The Steering Committee is charged with conceptualizing and developing a comprehensive model for community medical education programs designed to prepare high-quality, community-based physicians with competencies in team-based care, improving quality and outcomes in statewide populations while decreasing the cost of care. Faculty and staff members appointed to the Steering Committee include:

  • Syed Ahmed, MD, MPH, DrPH (expert in community engagement). Dr. Ahmed is Senior Associate Dean for Community Engagement, Professor of Family and Community Medicine and Professor in the Institute for Health and Society, Director of the Healthier Wisconsin Partnership Program and Director of the Center for Healthy Communities and Research.
  • John Corbett, PhD (expert representing the research enterprise). Dr. Corbett is Professor and Chairman of Biochemistry.
  • Alan David, MD (expert representing the clinical enterprise). Dr. David is Professor and Chairman of Family and Community Medicine.
  • Cecilia Hillard, PhD (expert in faculty career development and promotion). Dr. Hillard is Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Director of the Neuroscience Research Center.
  • Richard Holloway, PhD (expert in student affairs). Dr. Holloway is Associate Dean of Student Affairs and Associate Chair of Family and Community Medicine.
  • Ryan Goerlitz (expert in resource management). Mr. Goerlitz is Associate Controller.
  • Joseph Layde, MD, JD (expert in policies and procedures). Dr. Layde is Vice Chair for Education and Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine.
  • Hershel Raff, PhD (representative of the Faculty Council). Dr. Raff is Professor of Medicine (Endocrinology, Metabolism and Clinical Nutrition).
  • Kenneth B. Simons, MD (expert in Liaison Committee on Medical Education accreditation and Graduate Medical Education). Dr. Simons is Executive Director for Medical College of Wisconsin Affiliated Hospitals, Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education and Accreditation, Interim Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, and Professor of Ophthalmology and of Pathology.

Selection of the student representative(s) has not yet been finalized.

The Steering Committee will be facilitated by a faculty leader serving as Program Director of the community medical education programs, and it will be supported by faculty-led Work Groups focused on specific components of the programs. Recruitment has begun for the Program Director position and the four Work Groups: Curricular and Interprofessional Development Work Group; Faculty Development Work Group; Student Development, Recruitment and Admissions Work Group; and Community Partnership Integration Work Group.

The Steering Committee and the Work Groups will eventually include community members as development of the programs progresses.

Medical College of Wisconsin
8701 Watertown Plank Road
Milwaukee, WI 53226
Directions & Maps