John R. Raymond, Sr., MD
President and CEO

President Raymond

John R. Raymond, Sr., MD, the Medical College of Wisconsin’s President and CEO, assumed his position as the College’s sixth president on July 1, 2010. He came to the Medical College from the Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC) where he served as Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost.

Dr. Raymond was selected by the Medical College’s Trustees to succeed T. Michael Bolger, JD, who retired on June 30, 2010, after serving nearly 20 years as President and CEO. Mr. Bolger is now President Emeritus.

A practicing nephrologist who plays active roles in clinical care, teaching, and faculty mentorship, Dr. Raymond is also a medical researcher studying the basic mechanisms of kidney cell function. He has published over 130 full-length manuscripts and has received more than $38 million in competitive extramural funding.

He received his undergraduate and medical degrees with honors from the Ohio State University, and performed his internship, residency, chief residency and nephrology fellowship training at Duke University Medical Center. After completing his training, he joined Duke’s faculty where he rose through the ranks to attain tenure. In 1996, he moved to MUSC as the Dialysis Clinics Incorporated (DCI) Professor of Medicine. He served as Associate Chief of Staff for Research at the Ralph H. Johnson VA Medical Center in Charleston, SC, from 1998 to 2002. He was MUSC’s Associate Provost for Research from 2001-2006, and was Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost from 2002-2010.

Dr. Raymond has served on the editorial boards of the American Journal of Physiology – Renal Physiology, the Journal of Biological Chemistry and Assay Drug Development Technology. He was elected to membership in both the Association of American Physicians and the American Society for Clinical Investigation. He has chaired several standing study sections of the National Institutes of Health, and remains very active in scientific peer review.

Among Dr. Raymond’s many honors are awards for excellence in leadership, diversity, mentorship, research, teaching and clinical care from the Ohio Commission on Aging, Duke University Medical Center, the South Carolina Commission on Higher Education, the American Federation for Clinical Research, the Medical University of South Carolina, and the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. He was the recipient of the 2009 Marcy Speer Outstanding Reviewer Award from the National Institutes of Health’s (NIH) Center for Scientific Review, the highest honor for extraordinary commitment to peer review of NIH grant applications.

At the Medical College of Wisconsin, he has spearheaded expansion of our medical school and creation of regional campuses in central Wisconsin and Green Bay; supported development of a novel new accelerated medical school curriculum; driven closer financial and strategic alignments with Froedtert Health and Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin; and initiated numerous partnerships and collaborations.

Medical College of Wisconsin
Office of the President and CEO
8701 Watertown Plank Road
Milwaukee, WI 53226

(414) 955-8225

Medical College of Wisconsin
8701 Watertown Plank Road
Milwaukee, WI 53226
Directions & Maps