About Emergency Medicine

We established an independent academic Department of Emergency Medicine in 1993. Our faculty, residents, and mid-level providers practice in a new state-of-the-art patient centered clinical facility at Froedtert Hospital. We have nationally and internationally recognized clinical researchers and are ranked as one of the top 20 National Institutes of Health (NIH) funded Departments of Emergency Medicine. Our department hosts two NIH and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) funded research centers including the Resuscitation Research Center (RRC) and the Injury Research Center (IRC) and is engaged in several federally funded multi-center studies.

Our department also has nationally and internationally recognized experts in Emergency Medical Services (EMS), Trauma and Disaster Medicine. We provide medical direction for many regional EMS agencies including serving as medical directors for Milwaukee County and the City of Kenosha. Milwaukee County was recognized as a national model for medical oversight of an EMS system in the recent Institutes of Medicine report on emergency medicine.

We hope you find everything you are looking for on our web site. Please contact us with any questions.


Department Chairman
Stephen W. Hargarten, MD, MPH
Professor of Emergency Medicine
Associate Dean of Global Health
Director, Injury Research Center
(414) 805-6454

Department Administrator
(414) 805-6583

Jennifer Myszkowski
Administrative Associate

Edward Callahan, MD, MS

Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine
Residency Director
(414) 805-6455

Colleen Crowe, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine
Assistant Residency Director
(414) 805-6455

Clinical Operations
Jonathan M. Rubin, MD
Professor of Emergency Medicine
Clinical Director
(414) 805-6451

M. Christopher Decker, MD
Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine
Chief Transformation Officer for Medical College Physicians, Froedtert Hospital
Senior Medical Director of Process Improvement and Operational Efficiency, Medical College Physicians
(414) 805-6451

Daniel J. DeBehnke, MD
Professor of Emergency Medicine
Chief Clinical Integration Officer, Medical College of Wisconsin
(414) 805-6451

Out-Of-Hospital Operations
Ronald G. Pirrallo, MD, MHSA
Professor of Emergency Medicine
Associate Chair, External Affairs
Milwaukee County EMS Medical Director
(414) 805-9923

Research Services
E. Brooke Lerner, PhD
Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine
Research Director
(414) 805-0113

Translational Research
Tom P. Aufderheide, MD, MS, FACEP, FACC, FAHA
Professor of Emergency Medicine
Associate Chair of Research Affairs
Director, Resuscitation Research Center
PCIR Director, CTSI of Southeastern Wisconsin
(414) 805-6452

Contact Us

Mailing Address/Physical Location
Department of Emergency Medicine
Froedtert Hospital, Pavilion 1P
9200 W. Wisconsin Avenue
Milwaukee, WI 53226

Administrative Office
Phone Number

(414) 805-6450

Administrative Office
Fax Number

(414) 805-6464


Emergency Med Site Map

Medical College of Wisconsin
8701 Watertown Plank Road
Milwaukee, WI 53226
(414) 955-8296
Directions & Maps
© 2014