Integrated Fellowship in Pediatric Anesthesiology and Pediatric Pain Medicine

The Medical College of Wisconsin now offers an ABA and ACGME approved two year integrated fellowship in pediatric anesthesiology and pediatric pain medicine.  Candidates spend one year in each specialty as a didactic home, but have integrated clinical activities.  Additional features include a two year continuity pain clinic, opportunities for more complex scholarly activity, and time near end of the pain medicine year to refresh anesthesia skills.  Graduates are eligible to sit the ABA certification exams in both areas.  The Jane B. Pettit Pain Center was awarded the American Pain Society Center of Clinical Excellence Award in 2011.  Graduates of our two year pediatric anesthesia/pain track are all employed in academic pediatric settings.

 Application and Selection Process

Required application documents include the following, which may be forwarded to the Fellowships Coordinator, Orlando Diaz:

     1.  Two Applications*

          a.  Common Fellowships Application (suitable for Pediatric Anesthesiology)
          b.  MCWAH GME Application Form (also suitable for Pediatric Anesthesiology; required for Pain Medicine)

    2.   Personal Statement

    3.  Current Curriculum Vitae

    4.  Six Letters of Recommendation**

    5.  Copy of Medical School Diploma

    6.  Copy of USMLE scores

    7.  ECFMG certificate - if applicable

* For the Integrated Fellowship in Pediatric Anesthesiology and Pediatric Pain, two separate applications must be submitted, to be reviewed by the each of the two Program Directors.

** A total of six letters of recommendation must be submitted; three must be addressed to each Program Director.

Letters of recommendation should be addressed to the following Program Directors:

Hariharan Shankar, MD
Program Director, Pain Medicine

Susan Staudt, MD, MSEd
Program Director, Pediatric Anesthesiology

Mailing Address:
Medical College of Wisconsin
Integrated Fellowship in Pediatric Anesthesiology and Pediatric Pain
9200 W. Wisconsin Avenue
Milwaukee, WI 53226
Attn: Orlando Diaz

For more information about the Integrated Fellowship in Pediatric Anesthesiology and Pediatric Pain Medicine, please contact:

Steven J. Weisman, MD
Professor of Anesthesiology and Pediatrics; Jane B. Pettit Chair in Pain Management
Tel: 414-266-3560
Fax: 414-266-6092  

Orlando Diaz
Medical Education Coordinator
Tel: (414) 805-6104
Fax: (414) 805-5915   

Medical College of Wisconsin
8701 Watertown Plank Road
Milwaukee, WI 53226
(414) 955-8296
Directions & Maps
© 2015

Page Updated 09/30/2014